top of page
  • Writer's pictureApeZero

My Experience Of Wattay Airport In Vientiane Laos

Updated: Dec 12, 2022

I arrived from Vietnam to Wattay Airport at around 4 pm early December, 2022. I had done my due diligence with an understanding that things might be different then what I was expecting (they always are, and due to covid fallout a lots still shut down or starting back up - effecting everything else). I looked at YouTube videos of the airport layout which helped me a little, and saw that there was a shuttle bus operating. Great! I have never taken a taxi from an airport. Yes, you heard me correctly. I have used apps that mimic Uber however. But, it seemed like I wouldn't have to this time... Well, the fallout from Coronovisrus strikes once more and it seems there is no longer and airport shuttle bus. I also hunted for an atm and found none.


Though later after enquiring with two girls at the Unitel SIM card stand near the International arrivals area they let me know that there was an ATM outside, and a friendly traveler informed me there would also be one right passed the double doors walking from the international portion to the domestic portion of the airport. I figured best to stay inside the airport. Though, honestly, I didn't feel worried due to how completely not busy the airport was. Apparently, I had walked right by the ATM in my previous search. The ATM was a yellow Phongsavanh Bank ATM . I attempted to withdraw 1,000,000 Kip from the ATM and was refused. After my troubles in Vietnam (which you can read about in this post here) I was pretty worried my card wouldn't work. I decided to try one more time and chose the second highest amount 800,000 Kip. This time it worked out for me. The ATM charged me 20,000 Kip for the transaction and my traveler unfriendly Visa debit card charged me the foreign international fee along with the non-bank owned atm fee of 5 dollars. Fees fees fees. From what I understand Charles Schwab is the best for international ATM withdrawal as it has no fees when using ATMs internationally.


Quick Note: I have read that certain ATMS, specifically BCEL charges 20,000 Kip per transaction as it did me, and are quick to pull your withdrawn cash back in if you don't take it quick enough. From there you'll have to make phone calls to your bank and it'll be a 30 day wait to get the money returned to your account. So be careful... and be quick!


All that to pull out about 50 bucks, Jeeze! I contemplated waiting to get a SIM card when I got into the main downtown area because of course it was cheaper away from the airport, but this was not the time to be so stingey. I've paid the price for my cheapness before and I didn't feel like it this time. I got the SIM at a Unitel Sim card booth, the only one available at the time, I got it for 30 days and paid about 60,000. A steep price compared to what you can get, but not so steep pretty much anywhere else in the developed world. (I've heard Unitel is pretty much the best bet when it comes to getting good cell and data service. So far I've mainly kept to Wifi which I've had no problem using.)



Loca Rate Card
Loca Rate Card Costs and Transport Types

From the SIM card I ordered a ride through the Loca app, which is pretty much Uber/Grab for Laos, and was approached by a couple subdued Taxi drivers asking if I needed a ride. In a rare turn of events they were so chill I felt bad saying I had a ride coming. These guys have obviously not had good business since Coronavirus and maybe never did much business, the size of Vientiane was a bit shocking. I really did very little research - as I often don't anymore. Due to getting lost and anxious in any information I do find. This was a far different thing that I'd experienced from taxi drivers and an airport anywhere else I've travelled. Very small and very quiet. I get overstimulated very easily so it was actually weird, but nice.



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page