top of page
  • Writer's pictureApeZero

Should You Take AirAsia Airlines?

Long story short:


I think they screw you on checked luggage.


Short story long:


After spending 8 hours off and on overthinking and debating. Should I leave Thailand this day? Should I leave on that day? I was headed to Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. And like an anxious overthinker I procrastinated... I should have gotten this slowly figured out in the last month. I had plenty of time to do it, but my worry got the best of me and I hadn't even applied for the eVisa that I would need to enter. I found a good deal with VietJet, (an airline that is usually cheaper in comparison and seems about the same in terms of online people's preference) but it was cutting things to close for comfort...


(The e-visa government website is open for visa submissions: https://evisa.xuatnhapcanh.gov.vn/trang-chu-ttdt)


I've heard that Vietnam's eVisa takes 3 days to process, but at high tourism times or if you just got bad luck it could be up to 5 days. I've heard some people get it in 1 day. For me, I'd have exactly 3 full working days to get the eVisa if I took the VietJet flight... I'm not taking the chance, so AirAsia it is, more costly because of the day I have to leave, but it is what it is, thanks procrastination.



I go through the process of purchasing the ticket, they offered 7kg carry on luggage along with the ticket price (you can see there general rules for checked bags here: ) And when I go to click to see checked baggage prices I see the screenshot above. "We can't display any checked baggage options for pre-book. You can manage your booking later to pre-book checked baggage."


"Not cool, but oh well, what can you do" I think. I've seen the baggage prices from VietJet and it's an added 12 dollars or so for their least heavy checked bag. So it shouldn't be much more than that, I incorrectly assume. Well, I purchase the AirAsia CNX to SGN ticket (about 75 USD) and go to purchase checked baggage and my jaw drops. It will be an extra 40 dollars for 20 kg checked luggage - their least pricey option. So about half of what the actual plane ticket costs!


This is a fucked up way of doing business. I don't really have a choice in flights, but checked luggage costs should not be a surprise. You know what? I'll go a step further. NOTHING should be a fucking surprise. Tell me up front what I'm needing to pay. Let me know, and let me decide. Even if I must pay, don't blind side me. If I need to go digging through the rabbit hole of your faq to find that info (which I still haven't found price info, or even a mention of prices, just that you must pay) then you need to figure out a way to tell me before I buy the ticket.


Am I over reacting? I don't think so.


Not cool, AirAsia... not cool at all. But you got my money this time.


I fly back to Phuket Thailand in about 30 days. This return flight is VietJet.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page